Marriage License Application
Vital Records Partner Information Regarding Marriage
The Fee for a Marriage License is $25.00. Applicants may prepay for a certified copy for an
additional $9.00. The certified copy is required for some applicants to change their name
on their driver's license and for social security records to be changed.
- THE APPLICANTS MUST CALL THE PIERCE COUNTY CLERK’S
OFFICE (402-329-4225) TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO APPLY FOR A
- Both applicants must appear at the County Clerk’s Office to
apply for a marriage license.
- One form of current
unexpired identification is required-such as a
photo ID, driver’s license or passport.
A photo ID or driver's license including CDL's, learner’s
permits and provisional operator’s license which contains
the name and date of birth along with recognizable
photograph. This will work as long as the license is not
mutilated or altered and that signatures match.
A U.S. passport, which contains your name, date of birth and
recognizable photograph. A foreign passport containing name,
date of birth, recognizable photograph.
- Note: Statute 42-104 states "Each party
shall present satisfactory documentary proof and shall swear
or affirm to the application giving: (1) Full name of each
applicant and residents: and (2) the place, date and year of
birth of each." It is customary in this office to require a
photo ID as "satisfactory documentary proof" of identity
such as a driver's licenses, state id's, & passports.
A birth certificate by itself cannot positively establish
- Applicants must supply their Social security numbers, if no
Social Security number then applicant must sign affidavit in
front of county clerk or deputy county clerk.
- Applicants must supply their birth places (City and State or
- Applicants must supply the full names of their parents
(including mother's full maiden name), and their parent's
birthplace (City and State or foreign country).
- If either of the applicants is divorced, the couple
must wait six months after the divorce decree is final to
re-marry in the State of Nebraska.
- If either Applicant is not of legal age (19), a notarized
consent form must be signed by the Applicant's father, mother,
legal guardian or custodian, giving consent to the marriage of
the minor. If the individual giving consent is a legal guardian
or custodian, appropriate paperwork must be presented showing
this relationship to the Minor. If either applicant is under 17
years of age, a license cannot be issued in the State of
- The Marriage License is good for one year from the date of
issuance anywhere in Nebraska. Your Marriage license must be
obtained in the State in which you will be married. However, a
license issued in one county in Nebraska can be used in any
county in Nebraska.
- There is no waiting period.
- To be married by the County Court Magistrate you must call
the County Court Office (402-329-6245) to schedule an
- All Marriage Licenses obtained in Nebraska are public
- Plan on a half hour to complete the marriage license and our
hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Marriage licenses are not
issued after 4:00 p.m.
To receive a copy or a certified copy of a
Pierce County Marriage License you will need the following
- $1.00 for a copy picked up at the Clerk’s Office ($2.00 for
a copy to be mailed)
- $9.00 for a certified copy
- Name of Applicants (including maiden name)
- Date of marriage
- Must be issued from Pierce County to receive a copy
For a Certified Copy please mail a Check or
Money Order to:
Pierce County Clerk
111 W. Court Street, Room #1
Pierce, NE 68767